Houdini toon books

I am sitting in my favorite box

Meow meow meow. Or in Human, “Hello TOON friends! This is office manager and ruler of the known universe Houdini.”

While my human minions are at work in the TOON office, I take care of the real work: getting my belly scratched, shedding hair onto couches and pants, and finding the warmest place in the room to sit on top of. I’m also great with catching imaginary mice and hopping onto tables.

Since I can only speak in Cat, I’ve decided to commandeer the office computer to write a blog about the most important things in life — cats. More specifically, I will give you a list of my favorite cats from children’s books. While none of them are as glorious or as powerful as I, they are nevertheless, my family.

The Cat in the Hat (from The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss): I met the Cat in the Hat once. His rhyming drove me crazy and he was a total nuisance. In other words: a real cat.

Aslan (from the Narnia books by CS Lewis): Aslan is a lion, which some people don’t think are cats, but we know better. The King of Beasts, the guardian of Narnia, and a Lion, not a lion, Aslan’s supreme rule proves that you should listen to what your cats have to say. Or else.

Crookshanks (from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling): We’ve heard that Crookshanks is also “not a cat,” but like a cat, he’s loyal to his mistress Hermione, suspicious of rats, and quick with his claws. And I admire his fluffy coat.

The Cheshire Cat (from Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll): When he leaves, he leaves behind his smile, which is, I think, another word for “mounds and mounds of cat hair.”

Hobbes (from Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson): Silly adults only see a stuffed tiger when they look at Hobbes. But to Calvin, Hobbes is the perfect friend and partner in crime. But like any sneaky cat, Hobbes manages to lay all the blame for his shenanigans on Calvin.

Puss in Boots: Puss is a legend of the feline world, though some say he never existed at all. I do find it hard to believe that any cat would need a sword to fight his enemies, but we’ll let that pass.

A sidenote: Benny and Penny are my two favorite mice. I would never eat them. Not even if I was hungry.